July Update

Hello! I know I’ve been away for awhile. What can I say, the first half of the year just seems so hectic that blogging takes a step to the side. I recently logged into WP and saw that my blog still shows signs of life, so I thought I should take a few minutes to post something and get up to date with my fellow bloggers.

Below are some of the items that have occupied my attention and I’d like to share with all of you.

1. 2014 Birding
As you may know, I recently became a birdwatcher and my last update had to do with the Great Backyard Birdcount. It was definitely a fun event to partake, and I counted 22 different bird species living in my backyard. After the bird count, I started hanging up socks full of thistle seed for the house finches, and within a few weeks I discovered that there are lesser goldfinches in my area. About mid-April, while running late for work one day, I also discovered that my pool sometimes doubles as a duck pond.

P1040096 P1040103 P1040097

 

The Mallard and Cinnamon Teal shown above flew into my pool for a few minutes, then jumped out, dried off their feathers and flew away.  After I took the photos, I noticed a blue and white tag on both ducks, so these two are being tracked.

2. Continuing Education

About this time last year, I discovered my local county library system offers FREE online self-interest courses delivered by a nationwide provider (currently Gale Education).  For the past year, I’ve been taking various classes through this system. I started with guitar and music classes. In January, I decided to update my technical skills and took an intro SQL class as well as intro HTML. I then moved on to an advanced HTML class.  It’s been fun learning how to design websites. At some point, I should use my new found skills to give this blog a small makeover.  I’m kicking around an idea for a website, but am not sure if I want to commit to launching a website yet. Stay tuned.

3. Job Stuff

I’m a senior level business/financial analyst during the day.  My job is comfortable, but this month will mark 6 years at my current organization.  It’s made me really sit and examine where I want my career to go because I don’t see growth opportunities for my role at my current company. On the other hand, the location, perks and salary are satisfactory.  I’m in no hurry, but it never hurts to keep an eye out for other opportunities. In the meantime, I’ve been taking time to do some career planning and set a few goals.

 

4. WRITING!!!

Over the past 3 months, I’ve made myself commit to a normal writing routine to get some of my half-finished stories and poems finished.  I had a list of 10 pieces that needed work.  So far, I’ve finished 3… 2 poems and 1 personal essay.  I submitted the 2 poems for publication and they were recently accepted into a magazine published by the AZ Consortium for the Arts.  I’ll post a link to the issue when it launches.  I now need to submit the personal essay… then get back to the remaining 7 items.

5. ETC…

I’ve also used the first six months to do some home improvements, go on vacation, continue with my guitar playing, spend more time catching up with friends, etc…

There is just never enough time for everything, is there?

Well, that is what I’ve been up to. How about you? Feel free to leave me a message below to let me know how you’ve been.  I’ll slowly but surely make it over to everyone else’s blog, but feel leave to leave me the highlights of your 2014 so far in the comments below.

 

8 thoughts on “July Update

  1. I love the photographs of the ducks. It sounds as though you’ve been really busy.
    I’ve been quite busy doing the usual doggy things – hiking with my bipeds, eating, sleeping, and blogging!

    • Hi Clowie!

      It was a sight to see those ducks swimming around my pool before I even had a chance to break it in for the spring! I am glad that you have been keeping busy. I think you are more active than some people I know. 🙂

  2. So good to see you! wow… you have been busy. You have tremendous self-discipline, selecting personal goals and attacking them with gusto. All so good. I smiled at your refusal to join Facebook. Are you and I the only two people in the world who haven’t gotten into that? Somedays I weaken, and wonder if I should, but I really don’t like the whole concept and I fear the rabbit-hole. I’ll take strength in knowing that I have an anti-Facebook partner in you! 🙂 Glad to have you back, even if it’s only occasionally. (the birdwatching/counting sounds like fun!)

    • Awesome! Another anti-Facebook person! Yeah, I just see it as a time waster, and I have too many things to do! Anyone I really want to keep in touch with should know how to get a hold of me by now. Seems like everyone at work spends half the day either looking at it on their desktop or their phone.

      LOL – we aren’t the only two people. I actually know a few other people in real life that have no desire to sign up.

  3. I’ve remained forcefully retired. Just reading what you’ve done leaves me winded. While not “Birders” we watch/ listen to those in our neighborhood. A little backyard gardening recently gave us robins, grackles, goldfinches, blue jays, cardinals and seagulls. A small stream near the daughter’s place is where the wood ducks and Canada geese hang out. 🙂

    • I’m jealous of people who are retired. Believe me, I have to force myself to get at least 6-7 hours of sleep so I have energy to get stuff done. Otherwise, I have a tendency to get up early and go to sleep late.

      That sounds like one awesome symphony of bird sounds you have. I love the bird songs of the goldfinches. Yesterday, a couple of Gamble’s Quail tried to peck their way past my patio door. If I were to ever leave it unlocked…let’s just say I’d have a few new roommates.

      Good to hear from you. I’ll have to visit your blog soon.

  4. Well, I too cringe at the thoughts of joining face-book (I can hardly bring myself to write it’s name) however, all my family are “on” it. I’m under pressure but I still remain strong (up to now, one should “never say never”).
    Loved the duck in the pool LOL, that was just so heart-warmingly cheeky, magic moments. Wow and well done on managing a very busy schedule, I’m impressed.
    Cheers Nicole and take care, James 🙂

    • I’ve caught ducks in my pool exactly 2 times, both this past spring. There is also a squirrel that frequents my yard. In addition, there are several different flocks of geese that pass through the area between late winter and early summer. I can’t help but wonder if some of them may have landed in my yard at one time. I’ve seen the geese running around at the park down the street. Oh, the things that happen in my yard when I’m not home. It’s probably better I don’t know.

¡Dígame!

