Quail Run

This week, I have yet another post highlighting some of the wildlife that crosses through my backyard.  I do have many different types of birds that cross through the neighborhood. One of my favorite birds to observe is the Gambel’s Quail. Gambel’s Quails, named after 19th century naturalist William Gambel, are primarily found in the Southwestern United States. They are ground foragers and eat mostly plant matter (i.e. seeds, leaves, etc…) though juveniles tend to eat insects as well. 

The first two photos below are of a male quail.  Males have a mask-like appearance on their faces and copper colored feathers on the tops of their heads.

039 041

Typically, these quails will travel in packs as a family unit.  At the beginning of summer, many new quails were spotted running around the yard with their parents.  Below, I was able to snap a photo of a female Gamble’s Quail with her two chicks.

DSCN0336

 

 

4 thoughts on “Quail Run

  1. Hi Nicole. Do the quails breed in your yard? That would be good! I think your new interest in wildlife is great!
    James 🙂

    • I have not noticed them breeding in my yard, although I did read that they bury their eggs underground. It’s possible they could have eggs buried under one of the trees.

      I do feel fortunate to have a variety of wildlife crossing through my backyard. It’s something I’ve only observed since moving into a house…I never paid much attention before living in an apartment complex. Although, this morning I spotted either a falcon or hawk in my yard… it was a little unnerving yet awe-inspiring at the same time. I unfortunately did not capture it on camera….but I don’t think I can forget seeing a bird that size up close.

  2. Perhaps towards Spring time, you could put out a couple of boxes with some hay and twigs in them, probably best in the undergrowth, up against a tree or under a bush. You never know!
    I know exactly what you mean about the hawk being awe-inspiring, the same thing has happened to me. It’s an incredible experience! I’m really looking forward to hearing about other things you spot.
    Have a nice weekend Nicole, regards James 🙂

    • Good suggestion. I have a hanging planter outside that the smaller birds like to sit in and pick through the coconut liner. I think they are using that material for their nests. A box on the ground would be a good way for the quails to access materials. Thanks for the suggestion!

¡Dígame!

