Bird Seed Bandit

Continuing with my latest hobby of sharing things I see in my backyard, I’ve discovered yet another visitor who stops by to eat and drink before going on his/her merry way.

Following in the footsteps of the woodpecker who likes to drink out of the hummingbird feeder, I caught this furry one feasting on the bird seed cake I have hanging from the lemon tree.

DSCN0536

I actually saw one squirrel running around my yard last year about this time, but after two weeks it seemed to disappear.  Then four weeks ago I saw this one feeding on bird food. It came around for another two weeks, but I haven’t had any sightings for days now.

The birds get agitated when the squirrel comes around.  The doves and lovebirds are especially vocal about displaying their displeasure of his/her company, yet the larger grackles (the large bird in the background sitting in the birdbath) are subdued in the squirrels presence.   Knowing there are several sets of eyes on him/her, the few times he/she has visited, he/she mainly eats for about five minutes then dashes right out of my yard.

2 thoughts on “Bird Seed Bandit

    • I tried a squirrel feeder, and the Grackles ate more of the feed than the squirrel did! I recently added a feed block, which is more easily accessible to the birds and the squirrel, but now the squirrel hardly comes around. Go figure.

¡Dígame!

