Parrot Party

Hello there!  Yes I know it has been nearly two months since my last post. I had not logged into WordPress in weeks, so I was a bit surprised to see that some of my posts from last year were still driving visitors to the blog.  So I figured I should post something new.

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned this on the blog before, but one of my newer hobbies is bird watching.  I gradually added a few feeding stations around my backyard and have been graced by the presence of several types of birds, many of which I never really noticed before.

One species that has made itself known in my backyard is the rosy faced lovebird (sometimes referred to as the peach faced lovebird).  Typically see flying together in flocks of at least 5-6, I’ve had as many as 20 hanging around my backyard at the same time.

These birds are actually native to southwest Africa.  However, a local aviary let go a flock of these birds approximately 13-14 years ago.  The desert climate apparently agreed with these birds as they have thrived in the Phoenix metropolitan area.

From my observations, they love to hang on things and splash around in water.

DSCN0367 070 071 DSCN0433

For more information about the Phoenix peach faced lovebirds, feel free to check out the articles below.

http://www.azfo.org/pfLoveBird/pfloMain.html

http://www.birdchannel.com/bird-magazines/bird-talk/2009-february/peach-faced-lovebirds.aspx

http://www.azcentral.com/travel/articles/20130206lovebirds-stir-passion-phoenix.html

11 thoughts on “Parrot Party

  1. Welcome back. Those birds are cute. During our stay last year at Cave Creek I developed an interest in birds and placed out bird feeders. Until last year, I never realized the abundance of birds that thrive in the desert. Enjoy your new hobby!

    • It is quite amazing, isn’t it? I recently added a feeding station for squirrels as there is one that keeps coming to snack on the seed cakes for the birds. It will be the subject of my next post.

    • They are troublemakers! I swear they are conspiring with each other most of the time. Honestly I just keep feeding them because I’m afraid they’ll come after me if I don’t.

      Thanks for the welcome back. It’s been a challenge for me to pay attention to blogging this year. I’ll probably continue to post sporadically and force myself into a regular schedule as part of some New Year’s resolution.

      • I remember watching a documentary on parrots and how complex their personalities are: couldn’t believe how jealous they can get, actually stalking/being aggressive to their owners new boyfriends and babies! As far as blogging goes, do what you can – nice to have you back in any capacity!

    • Yes, non-native things do cause problems, as evidenced by my allergies to many of the non-native flora that have been brought to the state over the years. 😦

      There are several Audubon groups tracking these guys for several years. So far there hasn’t been any significant disruptions to the local environment that have been discovered as a result of these birds living here.

      London is another city with a large population of these non-native birds. Not sure if they’ve blended in or disrupted the environment there…

  2. Cheeky birds eh? Yes, it seems they can adapt well to other environments, there are none here in NW England yet but it will only be a matter of time I think! Have a good week Nicole 🙂

    • You know, it’s been mentioned in some of the materials I’ve come across that outside Phoenix and Southwest Africa, London is the only other place where these have been seen in abundance due to either escaping as pets or being let go. But I haven’t found much information regarding how the feral lovebird population is acclimating to London – whether they are thriving or whether there are just a few sightings here and there. The climate here in Phoenix is dry (well, most of the time…save for late summer when it’s hot AND humid) and mountainous…similar to what this particular species is used to in their homeland. The feral population has been around for about 15 years, but it’s only the last two years that there has been a widespread awareness of these birds in the area.

      London does keeps popping up as a mention. These birds seem to be very intelligent and sturdy, so it could be just a matter of time before they migrate your way. Believe me, they are extremely noisy…you’ll notice if/when they show up in your area.

      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Yes, there are also populations of several species of parakeet and they have spread to various locations in the south of England, the ring-necked parakeet being the most common and increasing in numbers!
    Cheers Nicole 🙂

¡Dígame!

