Photo Friday: Gilbert Riparian Preserve Part II

Last week I introduced the Gilbert Riparian Preserve, complete with photos of the surrounding plants and wildlife.  This week, I’d like to share a few more photos, taken just last month on a very humid July morning.

DSCN0259

With the overcast sky, temperature hovering just above 70 degrees Fahrenheit, and 60% humidity, the preserve had a very sub-tropical ambiance.

The ducks in the pond near the entrance of the preserve were up and about.

DSCN0244 DSCN0238

As I began my hike into the preserve, I noticed a few signs around the preserve that contained random facts about the universe in general.  Here is one such sign about Jupiter.

DSCN0257

I suppose these help entertain those of us here for a morning walk.

As I moved further into the preserve, I came across a neat little babbling brook, which I had  somehow missed on previous visits.

DSCN0250 DSCN0256

At another pond was a completely different flock of birds than the ones found at the entrance.

DSCN0266 DSCN0265

I also came across a dragonfly and a hummingbird.

DSCN0279 DSCN0287

The egrets and herons were also in abundance during this visit.

DSCN0302

Thankfully, I didn’t see any snakes on this visit.  I did however catch more than just a glimpse of the numerous jackrabbits running around the preserve.

DSCN0316 DSCN0325

This was definitely a great way to wake up and start my morning.

6 thoughts on “Photo Friday: Gilbert Riparian Preserve Part II

  1. Hi there Nicole, how are you doing? What a lovely place to visit, I bet it has a calming effect! I love little random facts like the Jupiter one. Cute 😉 Looks good for metal detecting too ha ha! 😀

    • Hello James! I am doing alright – super busy but also trying to relax and enjoy life. 🙂 I absolutely love walking through this preserve. Yes, very calming.

      I think it would be a fruitful place for metal detecting. Between the joggers, dog-walkers, urban fishers and horse riders (yes you can also ride your horse on specific trails) there are probably numerous hidden treasures that have been left behind.

      It’s always good to hear from you. Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

  2. Pingback: Year in Review 2013 | NMNPHX

¡Dígame!

