Those Zany Blog Awards

With the October Spotlights handed out and the excitement of discovering some new blogs, it is now time for me to recognize awards that have been bestowed to me this month.

Before I dive into shameless self-promotion, let me just take a moment to highlight the October Spotlight winners one more time:

1. Zen Scribbles

2. The Fuzzy Foto

3. The Tripping Pencil

4. ShareChair

The first blogging award I want to acknowledge is the Bloggie’s Award by PZCODERZ.  This is very similar to the Spotlight Award as PZCODERZ identifies a handful of blogs to highlight each month.  Also, there are no rules – all I have to do is just enjoy the award.  Thank you PZCODERZ.  If you have a few moments, go check out PZCODERZIt is a blog that focuses on tech topics.  Recent posts have included a brief history of the barcode (which just turned 60) as well as tips on building strong passwords.

Next, I received a Liebster Blog Award from Cindy Knoke. The Liebster Blog Award was originally created to give to blogs with 200 followers or less.  However, not all bloggers display their follower count, which makes it difficult to know who would meet this criteria.  As far as I can tell, this rule has been ignored over time as it has been passed from blog to blog.  FYI- Liebster is the German word for “dearest” (or so I’ve been told by the “internet”).

Thank you Cindy!

Liebster Blog Award

The rules of this award stipulate that you answer 11 questions posed by the person who gave you the award, then you hand out 5-11 awards and list 11 questions for your nominees to answer.

First, I’ll address the questions – which you all know is my *favorite* part of these awards.  Those familiar to my blog also know I have a funny way of answering questions about myself.

  1. Do you believe in Global Warming? What the heck, let’s get divisive? I think the temperatures we saw this year confirm it.
  2. Do you think science majors are generally tougher than humanities majors? Let’s get really divisive! Hmmm….no idea.  I was a social science major (Economics) and I always seemed to be the one tutoring calculus to the kids majoring in physics.  
  3. What is the place you most want to visit? Walla Walla Washington. Not really, I just always wanted to say that.
  4. What historical figure do you think made the greatest contribution to the world? Whoever invented toothpaste.
  5. What person currently living do you think is making the greatest contribution to the world? Whoever invented Breathe Right nasal strips.
  6. What do you most want to accomplish in your life? Not getting horribly injured in a freak accident.
  7. Do you think you are in the process of doing this? Most assuredly.
  8. Who are three of your favorite authors? Steinbeck, Kerouac and O Henry
  9. Who are three of your favorite artists? Marcel Duchamp, Yves Tanguy and Joan Miró  
  10. If you had magical power and could solve one global problem, what would it be? Ending the stipulations that you must answer questions to receive blog awards.
  11. Why do YOU blog? Because I can.

Next, I must nominate 5-11 other blogs.  I decided to keep this at 6 because I wanted to award this to blogs that I’ve never given an award to before.  With the frequency that blog awards are passed around, it became a short list of blogs.

http://jillianlevi.wordpress.com/

http://pzycoderz.wordpress.com/

http://lanternpost2012.wordpress.com/

http://theatticbirds.wordpress.com/

http://sueddie.wordpress.com/

http://strannyi.wordpress.com/

Now… it is my turn to hand over a list of 11 questions for my nominees to answer, hahahahaha!!!  Just remember, if you accept this award and answer my questions, you can come up with your own list  of questions to torture your nominees. 🙂

1. This or that?

2. Here or there?

3. Do you have a favorite novel, and if so, what is it?

4. Silver or Gold?

5. What is the square root of 49?

6. Would you ever consider dumping WordPress in favor of Blogger? This is my *controversial* question.

7. When did you first realize you wanted to write?

8. Why do you blog?

9. What is one thing you’ve always told yourself you would do, but still have not done?

10. How many chucks would a woodchuck chuck if a woodchuck could chuck wood?

11. What is the meaning of it all?

25 thoughts on “Those Zany Blog Awards

  1. Pingback: Oh my God! I GOT NOMINATED!!! | PZYCODERZ

  2. Pingback: An Award? For Me? « Strannyi

  3. #1 Definitely that.
    #2 But I want to keep it here.
    #3 Yes! The one I’m reading
    #4 So plebian. Tungsten
    #5 Eleventeen
    #6 I’m a Blogger, and even I wouldn’t dump WordPress.
    #7 Hold on. I’ve got that written down here somewhere.
    #8 It keeps elephants away
    #9 Amswer this question.
    #10 Bride of Chuckie
    #11 Why is a mouse when it spins? The higher the fewer!
    No-one’s addressing me?! I’m ready for my closeup now, Mr. Mayer

    • LOL- you know, I wanted to keep these to people I’ve never nominated for any award, but I almost listed you as a nominee because I had a feeling you’d give some great answers to my set of questions…

      Since I still have plenty of slots for nominees – if you’d like to accept the award, I’ll list you as a nominee in this post when I return home from my short trip next week.

  4. Pingback: Liebster award nominees « J.C. Henderson's blog

  5. Pingback: Liebster award nominees « J.C. Henderson's blog

    • I see the person who awarded you your Liebster award had the same attitude about these 11 questions as I did.

      I think my favorite part of your acceptance has to be question 2:

      2. What’s your opinion on this whole award nomination thingy?

      They should award the winner with a lifetime supply of anatomically correct dolls.

    • LOL! I tried them out to see if it helped with sinus issues. It seems to help in that when I wake up I don’t have sinus headaches or a scratchy throat.

      Good luck trying to get your husband to use them. Here is a tip: Rexall and Target’s Up and Up brand of strips are pretty close to the original Breathe Right strips and they are much more economical.

  6. Pingback: The Grinning Skull is nominated for a Liebster Blog award! « The Grinning Skull

  7. Pingback: My Liebster award Nominations….. « The Grinning Skull

  8. Pingback: A Gargoyle for your Blog | NMNPHX

¡Dígame!

