September Spotlight

Welcome to September.  Let us kick off the month by spotlighting some blogs!

For those of you new to the party, I spotlight 5 blogs at the beginning of each month that I think are deserving of some recognition.  I’ve created a page on my blog that contains the award logo and purpose of the award.  Check it out, especially if you’ve been spotlighted.  Below are the guidelines about the award.

1.  If I pass on the Spotlight Award to you, congratulations!  It means I thought your blog was awesome enough to mention on my blog complete with a short description to my readers about why your blog is awesome.

2. Unlike other blog awards floating around the internet, YOU DO NOT HAVE TO DO ANYTHING TO ACCEPT THE AWARD.

3. If you want to paste the logo on your blog and let your readers know you’ve been spotlighted, that’s cool. If you think my award is bunk and don’t want to mention it to anyone, well that is your choice.  But just know that you have been recognized and you don’t need to do anything else besides bask in the glory of your victory.

Before I head into a new list of awards, do check out last month’s winners as well:

Slapppshot

Live. Explore. Learn. Remember.

The Slowest of All Possible Elevators

Elisa Ruland

The fifth nominee, Mirrored Self is no longer.  Akanksha is currently devoted to BBooks.

1. Bringing Europe Home

Tagline: Traditions and Tidbits from the Continent to the States

Blog Summary:  A blog that sets out to celebrate the best of European traditions and provide tips on how to bring a little bit of European flavor into your everyday life. Created by Robin Jean Marie, Bringing Europe Home contains recipes, photos, and a little bit of history to inspire, delight and help you relax.  Robin has lived in Italy and Germany, but now reside happily in Georgia.

Excerpt:“…when my boys attended their kindergarten in Germany, they had an “Easter Bunny Feast,” and this is what they did:  they bought bunny food. They walked with their class to the local Wednesday farmers market and bought an assortment of fresh vegetables, along with fresh eggs.  On Thursday they boiled the eggs and washed and cut the vegetables.  They went home that afternoon giddy with anticipation over the “Easter Bunny Feast” that they would enjoy the next day.  Of course, they did enjoy their party— cucumbers, carrots, bell peppers, and all.  I was quite impressed with that (and very chuffed, as well), and a nicely filled Easter basket several days later didn’t seem like sugar overload.”

One more thing: Robin does a weekly “Quotes from the Masters post in which she writes an entry around a quote and invites others to create their own blog post around the quote.

 

2. Elli Chortara Illustrations

Tagline: None.

Blog Summary:  London based illustrator Elli Chortara shares her original illustrations on this blog.  Each illustration is accompanied by a short summary of the character or background on what the character is doing.

Excerpt:This robot appreciates the power of ‘voicing’. ‘Voicing’ is something uncommon among robots as they have other codes of communication but ‘voicing’ is something they took from humans, and can be applied also in their everyday life. That robot seems to be voicing what is written down on that piece of paper, perhaps some instructions or some text. The act of ‘voicing’ can also be considered healthy in robot life as it is a form of expression similar to the human one and another alternative way to communicate.

One more thing: Illustrations are the main attraction here.  Just check out her latest illustration to see how awesome this blog is.

3. Burgessart

Tagline: International Fine Artist/Teacher Robert J Burgess

Blog Summary:  Currently based in Australia, Robert is an artist who strives to transform the mundane into something spectacular.  Each post is a photo accompanied by either a narrative or in some cases, poetry.

Excerpt: “I love random shots which force us to see things in a new way….from a different point of view. I believe anything which gets us out of our familiar, routine ruts and makes us think or feel to enrich our lives is good. I hope that an image such as this does that.”

One more thing: He has also made short movies of his morning walks.

4. House Wife Part-time

Tagline: Our day to day adventure.

Blog Summary:  A new blog from Shawna – a part time housewife and full time student.  Her posts contain anything from her adventures in keeping a clean house to visiting restaurants that advertise husband sitting services..

Excerpt: “On a typical house-wife day most of my “to do list” is done way before anyone comes home. So, to help from washing the dog 4 times, cleaning the walls, and putting clothes in the dryer just to fold them, I sometimes experiment with chemicals to clean with. On this day I was washing clothes all day so my boredom level was out of the roof! I love using my homemade products but putting vinegar in the washer and then baking soda, instead of using store softener, was getting old!!

I had decided that today was the last day I would do two steps just to soften my towels. From this day on I was going to shake a bottle and proudly pour only once…

I grabbed my bottle of vinegar and began to pour the baking soda in…

I had no idea that I was about to experience a very big brain fart.

Before I put 1/2 cup in the mix foam came flooding out of the bottle.. ahhhhh….

I absolutely freaked! I had no idea that mixing the two would explode. As you can tell I failed chemistry!”

One more thing: Shawna’s oldest post is dated August 12th and she celebrated her 50th page view about a week later.  Let’s help Shawna get her page view count well into the triple digits.

5. My Cruise Stories

Tagline: Cruise ship adventures.

Blog Summary:  Blogger Lois loves to travel on cruise ships.  She shares her adventures in cruising. She is not a travel agent nor does she work for any cruise lines.  She just wants to share her passion for taking cruises around the world.

Excerpt: “Finally we arrived in Fort Lauderdale, in plenty of time to board, but not early enough to beat the crowd.  Oh well, can’t have everything.  We waited through the usual lines, had our pre-boarding photos taken, and finally got on board. Tropically dressed crew members selling welcome aboard drinks they called Bahama Mamas greeted us as we set foot on the ship.  I must say I save a lot of money on cruises because I don’t drink.  My daughter was only 18 or 19 at the time so she could not drink alcohol whether she wanted it or not.  One could blow through a lot of money in very little time buying alcohol on cruise ships.

We had a bit of time to explore before the mandatory life boat drill.  We found the tiny pool that made for good jokes by the ship’s comedian, the hot tub that never seemed to be open at convenient times to use it, and the fitness center we never bothered to use.  But exploring is always fun, whatever you might find.  At the lifeboat drill I wondered why we had to go so far to find our assigned lifeboat when we could practically stand under one after exiting our room.  I hadn’t considered that people who did not have rooms on that deck would have a greater distance to go, so we had plenty of time to walk down to the farther boats while they didn’t.  Luckily I have never been on a cruise that needed to use the life boats for anything other than tenders for ports where they couldn’t dock.”

One more thing: A regular feature on My Cruise Stories is posts on how to fold towels into animal shapes.

4 thoughts on “September Spotlight

¡Dígame!

