August Spotlight

It’s time for another round of Spotlight Awards!

Welcome to August.  What better way to kick off the month than to hand out some awards!  Before I get into the new set of winners, let me take a moment to recognize last month’s group of awesome bloggers:

I Miss Me, Too

Meanwhile in 3

Social Jerk

Grandmother Musings

Drew Kail

I’ve created a page on my blog that contains the award logo and purpose of the award.  Check it out, especially if you’ve been spotlighted.  Below are the guidelines about the award.

1.  If I pass on the Spotlight Award to you, congratulations!  It means I thought your blog was awesome enough to mention on my blog complete with a short description to my readers about why your blog is awesome.

2. Unlike other blog awards floating around the internet, YOU DO NOT HAVE TO DO ANYTHING TO ACCEPT THE AWARD.

3. If you want to paste the logo on your blog and let your readers know you’ve been spotlighted, that’s cool. If you think my award is bunk and don’t want to mention it to anyone, well that is your choice.  But just know that you’ve won and you don’t need to do anything else besides bask in the glory of being recognized by one of your peers.

Let us move onto the August Winners.

1. Mirrored Self

Tagline: Life as it seems to me.

Blog Summary: Run by Akanksha, who like to write and muse about life.  Her blog posts are thoughtful and thought provoking in a way that makes you stop and really evaluate if you are really grasping what is going on in the world around you.

Excerpt: I have seen people racing for the big achievement. They are never satisfied with themselves and tend to compare and be jealous.  Most women want to be as beautiful as Miss Universe or most men like to be as successful as Bill Gates or many of us crave for that out of line recognition or lifetime success.  But many of us don’t realize that being at peace with oneself is the biggest achievement in itself.

 One more item: She recently launched another blog, The Reasoning

2. Slapppshot

Tagline: Tales of a single dad, his adventurous daughter and their four legged sidekick.

Blog Summary: The tagline actually does a great job of summarizing the blog.  Tobbe does a great job coming up with thoughtful posts from his point of view raising his daughter Madeleine.  Their dog Freja is the four legged sidekick.

Excerpt: The use of the word caravan would be an exaggeration of the highest regard. An un-fair manipulation of the word c-a-r-a-v-a-n. No, Maddy, Crazy Frazy and myself are currently stuck in a contraption that could more be described as a tiny half-room on wheels. A wheelie bin. A port-a-loo. A tiny shoe-box!

While the rest of the kind folk we are sharing this nice getaway experience with are sleeping inside a perfectly normal house, in perfectly comfortable beds, with a perfectly working bathroom and toilet…us three have to spend the night in the tiniest space you could imagine…where we have to contort our bodies to fit in…and then try to find comfort to sleep.

If compact-living was a sport…we’d be the current number one. Numero uno. Champions of the world!

But I’m not grumpy…I’ve got my trusty old lap-top to amuse me. A lap-top so old I can’t even transfer pictures from my phone to…so I could show the world our exclusive living quarters.

One more thing: He is in the process of starting another blog where people can nominate their favorite posts of the day, kind of like the “Freshly Pressed” concept.

3. Live. Explore. Learn. Remember.

Tagline: Let your heart guide you. It whispers, so listen closely.

Blog Summary: The blog is run by Aneesa and Faraaz, two ex-pat South African young teachers now living in the same province in Korea. Their blog posts often highlight the amazing sights and experiences of Korea. Imagine if you picked up and moved to another country. How would you react to some of the differences in your surroundings?  They do a great job of navigating readers through their experience of culture assimilation and often post about day trips to amazing locations around Korea.

Excerpt:  Maybe the most confusing thing is the Korean age system. The year you are in the womb is considered your first year, so the day you come out you are already one. But then, everyone in the whole country turns a year older on New Years, so if you are born December 21st, ten days later you will legally turn 2. This makes it difficult especially with kids because you will have a group of “8″ year olds but really they may be as young as six. Some things shouldn’t be that complicated.

One more thing: They have a whole section on their website devoted to their “camera family”.  The photos on their website always look amazing, which has convinced me I need to invest in something beyond my camera phone.

4. The Slowest of All Possible Elevators

Tagline:  Also, the best smelling.

Blog Summary: A recent find, but one that has me smiling every time I go back a read another post from the archives (which basically means I keep hitting the previous post button at the bottom of the page).  It is, a mysterious little blog for sure as it doesn’t appear to have a lot of readers.  If it does, there don’t seem to be many comments or likes.  Most posts are short, but often hilarious.  The author posts poems, short stories and explanations why today’s post would have been great but isn’t or why yesterday’s post would have been terrible.  Cheese and potatoes are popular topics.

Excerpt:  As you know, the post I did not make yesterday would have made us all sad and traumatized us forever.

That said, it would have been memorable, educational, and maybe even entertaining. I do not personally find sadness entertaining, but I know that others do and I can tell already that those people are reading this with profound disappointment. It isn’t causing any harm to anyone or anything, but it’s not doing any good either. These words are appearing on my screen (and yours) solely because I am typing them. 

You will leave this post having learned nothing at all and you will probably feel the same as you did before you arrived. Actually, that might not be true. You will likely feel boredom. I know this because I am boring myself right now. You can stop reading as soon as you realize that there’s no point in continuing, but if I stop typing,

One more thing: The author typically leaves related articles at the bottom of each post, which are interesting articles.  A recent related article was my Spam Comment of the Week: July 17 in the post Accidentally uplifting spam is the best.

5. Elisa Ruland

Tagline: Living in the Here and Now

Blog Summary: Blogging from Atlanta, Elisa fills her blog with beautiful photos of nature and her travels, which are usually accompanied by short narratives.  Her goal with this blog is “… to squeeze a little more out of each day and share a bit of the good parts.”

Excerpt: Have you ever glanced at an old photograph and been instantly transported to the spot that inspired you to capture the moment?  It’s how I feel now, as I gaze across Trafalgar Square from my perch on the National Gallery steps to the vivid scene before me, entranced.  Pops of color flash in the sun, fountains dance in the wind, couples embrace, and buskers create their magic.  It’s a brilliant day and I squint in the sun to make out the outline of Big Ben in the distance, then take a quick glance at my watch.  Before I move on to meet my sister for lunch, I pause for moment to take it all in.  I am simply happy to be here.

One more thing: She really does take amazing photos.  Just click over there now and see for yourself.

I hope you all will take a few moments this month to visit these blogs.  One of these five may become a new favorite for you. Join me here again on September 1st when I’ll have another list of 5 blogs to spotlight.

17 thoughts on “August Spotlight

      • can you contribute an article with a little bio of yours for my blog, You can decide to choose any title or if you want I can provide one…I will let you know the details if you are interested 🙂

      • yes please! 🙂 I am planning to publish an ebook, let me know if you are interested to team up, we need to identify some good writers and articles here, I will be glad if you help!

  1. Pingback: I’d like to thank the Academy… « Live. Explore. Learn. Remember.

  2. Pingback: A Whole Lotta (Blog) Love « NMNPHX

¡Dígame!

