An Afternoon at Cabrillo

Summer vacation season is in full swing for many people across the globe.  As for me, I’ve opted to spend time at home, especially since I became a homeowner.  Because it is so new for me, spending time at home relaxing feels like a vacation.

Besides, lately I’ve found that I prefer traveling in autumn or spring. Years of relegating vacations to those three months between the end of the current school year and beginning of the next, traveling to various locations in other seasons brings new life even to places I’ve been before.

These pictures below are from my vacation last spring in San Diego. Living in such close proximity to this popular vacation spot, I’ve been there many times.

This last time I visited the Cabrillo National Monument, located at the very tip of Point Loma Peninsula in California.

This national park, which was very affordable at $5.00 for four of us to enter (they charge by the car), provides breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean. To see the exhibits at the Visitor Center and walk the path around the lighthouse takes approximately an hour.

From the top of Cabrillo National Monument, you can actually see the San Diego Bay and part of downtown.

Moving around past the statute of Juan Cabrillo outside of the Visitor Center, the view is even more breathtaking.  At this spot, I witnessed a submarine surfacing and saw several sailboats out in the ocean.

A must-see while at Cabrillo was the Old Point Loma Lighthouse.  It was only in operation for only 36 years, and closed in 1891 because the location of the lighthouse was often in the path of fog which obscured the light from the lighthouse.

The real fun awaits at the tidepools, where you can easily spend an hour just gazing out into the never-ending body of sparkling water right in front of you.

The tidepools are quite a ways down, and are best accessed by car. I took the picture below while standing at the tidepools. If you look closely, you can see the Old Point Loma Lighthouse at the top of the hill.

Whilst sitting amid the cliffs near the tidepools, I observed a seal swimming through waves as well as starfish and seagulls aplenty. The waves are quite hypnotic and relaxing. The cool breeze emanating from the ocean further creates a calm and peaceful atmosphere.

Everything just looks clear, crisp and clean from this vantage point. You can smell the moisture in the air and the water is just blue and crisp as it washes over the rocks near the shore.

Cabrillo National Monument instantly became a new favorite vacation spot for me. Although I strive to visit different destinations when scheduling a vacation, sometimes it is just easier to hop to an old standby. However, going to Cabrillo was a fresh way for me to enjoy a familiar place.

6 thoughts on “An Afternoon at Cabrillo

    • LOL – I know! I want to go back too! I didn’t realize just how much I enjoyed being there until I really started to look at these pictures. I’ll never forget the seal moving through the waves – mostly because of your brother’s reaction to it!

  1. I love it there! What a nice reminder of the California coast. We will be going the end of August, and I can’t wait!

    • Hi Diane! Good to hear from you. I never appreciated pictures when I was younger, but now I completely appreciate how pictures capture moments in time.

      How wonderful that you already have a trip planned to SoCal! Although, your neck of the woods is another favorite vacation spot of mine. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Spring Break: It’s Not Just for Kids « NMNPHX

  3. Pingback: Photo Friday: An Afternoon at Cabrillo Redux « NMNPHX

¡Dígame!

