Writer’s write. And I need to write, right?

academics, back to schoolWelcome to my blog. My name is Nicole, and while I hesitate to define myself too narrowly, I do consider myself to be a writer.

Up to now, I’ve had some of my research published during the time I  was a research assistant back in “the good ol’ days” of grad school as well as a handful of freelance projects in the past 5 years since I’ve been detached from academia.

However, back in the day (high school), I was known to write fiction – good fiction. Or so I was told by friends family and teachers. I did place in a school district writing contest, so I like to think everyone was being honest about my writing abilities. I’d like to think everyone who supported me back then are not dirty rotten liars.

I have a craving to get back into fiction writing and actually publish some of my made up stories as opposed to fact-based research (although let’s face it, plenty of non-fiction turns out to be made up, but I won’t go into that here).

At the same time, I have a passion for researching anything and everything that I find even mildly interesting. So I don’t want to completely give up hard research. In fact, I’d like to continue freelancing here and there.

What this all comes down to is that while I love to write, it currently is not my “day job” and all the mundane details of everyday living tend to wear me down to the point where I have been slacking off with my writing. In order for me to continue calling myself a writer, I need to write.

This blog is just as much for me as it is for you the reader. This blog is my record – my declaration that I will not allow my writing abilities to disintegrate. I will write something that contributes toward a story of some-kind every single day.

I won’t post everything I write on this blog. I may post snippets of fiction I’m working on or I may post short topic-driven columns on issues of the day that catch my attention.  I can’t say at this point that my posts will be focused around a certain theme. But I’ll post regularly each week, and having some public pressure out there to publish will propel me to write.

I invite any of you reading out there to give me feedback. Writing shouldn’t take place in a bubble.  Like any form of creative expression – it needs to be experienced and discussed. It needs to live and breathe. And it can only do that if there is an audience, even a small one.

5 thoughts on “Writer’s write. And I need to write, right?

  1. I’m in the same place – wrote grants, articles, research compilations and such for years for work and let the creative stuff shrivel. I read for pleasure a lot, though, during that time, and I think that’s really helped now as I start writing again. First – blog. Second – fiction!

    Your first post has a real and rare grace to its language – have fun playing with that, and good luck on your own writing evolution!

    • Thanks for the encouragement Jillian! This is my first foray into blogging, so I welcome any constructive feedback. Good luck to you as well Jillian, you seem to have a unique voice as well. Thanks for reading.

  2. What a fun way to keep your writing flow going. I really do like your writing style too. I am right there with you already on the first few posts – and I can certainly enjoy that. I have a 3 month old baby at home so I am not getting out much anymore.

    Keep writing, I am reading – looking forward to some stories.

    • Jess- thanks for stopping by! I know I’ve been saying for years now “I’m going to write about this, that and the other” but now I’m getting around to doing it. LOL- I’m still surprised that our experience in Werner’s English class didn’t completely ruin my desire to write.

  3. Pingback: One Year Anniversary, Part I « NMNPHX

¡Dígame!

