June Sunshine

June has arrived.  Another month and another blogging award to help celebrate the art of blogging and recognize some awesome blogs out there!

That’s right – NMNPHX has been bestowed the honor of the Sunshine Award from Lolo over at Ranting on the Lolo.  If you have not checked out her blog yet, take some time and do so now (well, that is after you read my blog).

This is similar to the Versatile Blogger Award, but the logo is so much cooler.

Here are the rules for the award:

  • Include the award’s logo in a post or on your blog.
  • Answer 10 questions about yourself.
  • Nominate 10 other bloggers.
  • Link your nominees to this post and comment on their blogs, letting them know they have been nominated.
  • Share the love and link the person who nominated you.
To start, here are 10 questions and answers about myself.

What is a real fear you have?  I have a fear of being in tight spaces due to mild claustrophobia.  It took me a little longer than most people I know to start driving because of it.  I eventually became okay with driving after incorporating positive self talk to keep the claustrophobia at bay.

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? A meteorologist.  No really, I wanted to be a meteorologist at age 6.  I think I moved on from that by the time I got to the fourth grade.

What are some of your hobbies? Reading, writing, blogging, playing my guitar, toiling in my yard trying to make beautiful plants grow, cooking, listening to podcasts, swimming, driving through random neighborhoods in my area to see how many people are either eating dinner or watching TV  in their garages.

What hobby would you like to start? I’d like to learn more about photography.  I like taking pictures of landscapes and scenery and I think there is something peaceful about the process of taking a photo.

If you could tell people anything, what would be the most important thing to say? Don’t ever neglect the people you love.   Spend the time with them now because you never know when they, or you, will be gone.

Name one item from your “bucket list”? Someday I’d like to attend the Glastonbury Music Festival.  Thankfully I crossed off SXSW a few years ago.

What’s the best prank you’ve pulled off?  When my cousin was six, I carefully pried out the fortune from a fortune cookie and replaced it with a personalized message just for him (tee hee).  It wasn’t really a fortune, it was a statement which read “David is a fart head.” He was old enough to read and understand the message.  I couldn’t  stop laughing at his reaction to it.  The kid was convinced I paid the fortune cookie company off to make the that particular cookie with that particular fortune.

What book are you planning to read next? I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou  Not to be confused with her poem of the same name, this is her autobiography.

Coffee or Tea?  I prefer to start my day with hot coffee.  Hot tea is hit or miss for me.  I can only stand to drink black tea, white tea, Earl Grey and Peppermint tea hot.  However, I love iced tea.  Once in awhile I’ll enjoy an iced coffee, but like hot tea, iced coffee is hit or miss for me.

Lemon Torte or Chocolate Cheesecake? I wouldn’t turn down either desert but I’ll always go for the lemony desert first.

My 10 Nominees are:

All of the nominees above can also be found on my blogroll.  There are a few more blogs on my blogroll not mentioned in the post, so be sure to check out those blogs as well because they are all awesome!


9 thoughts on “June Sunshine

    • Haha – yeah for some reason he liked using that term instead of saying something (or someone) is stupid so I borrowed it for the fortune cookie prank.

    • Thanks Drew. Of course I would include you in the nominations. You have some amazing prints but I really like how you show how your art happens, especially when you incorporate common household items and reuse items.

    • Thanks! The blog will always be a work in progress. Just glad some people out there like it. Looking forward to reading more of your blog.

  1. Pingback: Mmmm….SPAM! « NMNPHX

¡Dígame!

